why oh why didn’t i think of that? diy personalized postcards

Pinterest is so cool, is it not?  This year I’ve taken a Pinterest idea to heart and been very faithful to see it through.  The whole idea is to buy a postcard from all the places you visit throughout the year and mail them to yourself, from the place, to your home.  So, when I went to Disneyland with my sister Rochelle, I picked up a postcard shaped like Minnie Mouse, wrote about all our adventures and mailed it to Lake Arrowhead from Anaheim.  When Randy surprised me with a trip to Catalina for Valentines Day I mailed one from there as well.  It’s a cool way remember fun things from vacations and the date is posted right there on the card.

photo3

photo

This week, as we continue our Homeless Tour 2013, we’ve improved on the idea immensely.  We took a day and focused on Randy’s childhood memories.  We drove by the Junk Yard his family used to own, we ate at Joe Jost’s – a family favorite (but let me tell you, I could do without the sulfur whiz-poppers Randy “makes” as a result of those famous pickled eggs he loves so much… TMI?) and we stopped by his grandparents’ houses on both sides.  We took a photo of Randy standing in the yard of his grandpa’s house, the house where his father grew up.  The people who live there currently probably thought we were crazies.

When we got home and looked at the photo, inspiration hit my mom.  Turn that into your postcard, said she.  YES!  Why didn’t I think of that?  I really wish I thought of that.  But YES!  YES YES YES!

photo

My husband asked if I was going to “blob” about this.  Are you going to blob about this? Is this going to be in your blob?  You’re a great blobber.

The answer is yes.  A thousand times yes.  And thanks love.

After we printed the photo on a 4×6 photo card, I flipped it over popped on a stamp and wrote the things I wanted to remember.  I found that a ball point pen didn’t write very well.  I switched to a dry erase marker and that did the trick.  I finished off by placing a few pieces of packing tape over the writing, but NOT the stamp, to keep it from smearing.

photo

I love this!  We go to Hawaii next week and I can’t wait to find our postcard photo!  What do you think?  Is this something you would try?

-jw

4 comments

  1. K Eldridge · · Reply

    Such great blobber! Love every word always! Mom

  2. The postcard idea is so smart – I love it! You could scan each one and blob about it too.

    1. Thanks LC! I probably will do a follow up blob. Because, I love to blob. And I don’t know if you’ve heard, but I’ve been told I’m a great blobber.

Leave a Reply

