sourdough tortillas

The best thing about keeping sourdough starter is being able to share it with friends.  The best thing about sharing sourdough starter with MY friends is that they are all a bunch of super creative freaks who take an idea and run-forest-run with it, often to my direct benefit.  When I give a friend a starter I often also include a few of my favorite recipes – bread, biscuits, pizza dough, muffins, cookies, and corn bread, to name a few.   Having many different recipes to choose from is pretty important, because the more you use the starter, the better it becomes.   Different people have different tastes, so it just stands to reason that once you give some starter away, you’ll hear about all sorts of different recipes you didn’t think to try.  My friend Shannon shared a sourdough soft pretzel recipe with me that I loved, and my mom makes an amazing sourdough pancake.  But I think my friend Aurora has found the best one yet:  sourdough tortillas.

I would never have thought to try to make tortillas which is kind of weird because I use them a lot.  But that’s what I’m saying, freaky friends make my world go round.

Quesadillas, tacos, burritos and tortilla soup make regular appearances on my dinner table and tortillas are a staple in my house.  When Aurora told me she made them I was pretty impressed.  I mean, making homemade tortillas seems like it would be tricky and time-consuming.  But people, seriously, it is so simple and fast.  And the best part of all?  Basically all you need is one cup of flour.  Store bought tortillas ain’t cheap.  But I guess that doesn’t matter to me.  Because I won’t ever be buying them again.

Here’s the deal:

1 cup starter

1 cup flour

1 tbsp olive oil

water (amount will vary)

1 pinch salt

Start with 1 cup sourdough starter.

Add the olive oil, salt and flour (1/3 cup at a time) and just enough water to keep it from becoming too dry.  Looks something like this:

Then knead until you have a smooth, dense dough:

Let the dough rest 15-30 minutes.  Then heat a pan over medium high heat.  Twist off a piece the size of a ping pong ball and roll out on a floured surface until very thin:

Brown in hot pan:

And that’s all there is to it.  Nothing in the pan just heat.  I used my fingers to flip them as needed.  I rolled one out much thicker to try to make flat bread and it turned out great:

This recipe makes 6-8 tortillas depending on size.  You can use white, or whole wheat flour, either way it equals awesome.

-jw

8 comments

  1. You’re right – store bought are expensive. I’ve never made my own tortillas before, but I already had plans to start making sourdough for the winter, so I’m bookmarking this to come back to.

    1. Hi there LC! I’m constantly amazed by my starter. I don’t know how much money I’ve saved on sourdough alone, but it’s well worth it!

  2. Would that be delicious rolled up with vegan butter and cinnamon-sugar? Because I think it would …

    But does the sourdough lend itself better to spicy/savory? It would make a nice mini-pizza that didn’t need to go in the oven!!

    1. Yes; I agree; spicy, savory, salty, sweet, it’s a versatile little bugger; and H yes! I’m totally trying that pizza idea this weekend… man, it is always a good thing when you stop by 🙂

  3. I haven’t done sourdough anything and am a novice a breadmaking, but I want to keep trying and I’m so curious about making sourdough bread. I’m a little intimidated, though… But I’m going to pin this for later. 🙂

    1. It. Is. So. Easy. Do not let yourself be intimidated Jessica L! You got this. As far as breadmaking goes, sourdough starters are so easy to take care of and use. And there is such a wealth of info online. You can’t go wrong. I’ll even dry some of my starter and send it to you if you want to try it.

  4. K Eldridge · · Reply

    I tried these for the first time and man are they good! Paired them with sauted zucchini, yellow squash, orange bell pepper, red onion, fresh guacamole and broiled salmon. We made flat bread “fish-veggie-flatbread-guac-soft-sort of-tacos”. So good!

    1. Cool! We really love them too. Last time we made them a little thick and used them for turkey, tomato and cheese Paninis. YUM

Leave a Reply

