diy – toothpaste

When I was a junior in high school I went to the dentist and she told me I had 9 cavities.  NINE!  I had never had a cavity in my life so naturally I was freaked out.  I had six of them filled.  She said the rest could wait.

A few months later I went to an oral surgeon to have my wisdom teeth removed.  He took a bunch of X-rays.  I was still super freaked out about the cavities I’d racked up so I asked him how those three cavities were looking.  Were they getting worse?

What cavities? said he.  You don’t have any cavities.

I didn’t go back to the dentist for 15 years.  And when I did, guess who had no cavities.  That’s right, this guy (I actually stopped typing just then so I could point at myself.  Is that weird?)

Moral of the story?  Always get a second opinion.  Secondary moral?  Some dentists are morally corrupt money-grubbing shysters.

Now, I realize that we all have different levels of oral health.  And I know I got super lucky with chompers that aren’t cavity prone. And I’m not suggesting you stop going to the dentist. And I’m not saying that all dentists are morally corrupt money-grubbing shysters.  But I will say that this homemade toothpaste works as well and probably better than the tube you buy at Ralph’s for $5.  It costs less, and I bet if you don’t tell your dentist you switched, he won’t even have a clue.  He’ll probably compliment you on how great your teeth look.

Oh but what will I do without my fluoride, you say?  Rejoice.  That’s what I say.  But if you still miss it, drink some tap water.  If you live in the US, you’ve already got an over-abundance of fluoride built up in your system, and in my opinion (which, I know, is worth about five cents if you add it to a nickel) that’s not such a good thing.  Google it people.

So here are the ingredients for the homemade toothpaste I’m currently using:

¼ cup baking soda

¼ cup unrefined/raw coconut oil

1 tsp. powered green stevia (heads-up, took me forever to find it and I eventually had to order online)

15-20 drops of peppermint essential oil

5 drops tea tree essential oil

1 tsp. sea-salt

I’m converting my friends and family to the diy lifestyle one by one.  Here’s some photos of  how it went down when my friend Aurora got on board.

Mix everything together:

Ok, the picture below has more than one tsp of stevia… more like three I think.  My friend wanted to kind of gently work herself up to the baking soda taste, so what she did was start with a really sweet batch.  Then when she used half of the batch, she mixed up the remaining half with more baking soda, coconut oil and essential oils, WITHOUT using more stevia.  Kind of easing into it.

Coconut oil has a melting point of around 76 degrees, below that it’s a solid, above that, it’s liquid.  You can heat the mixture very briefly over a burner if the coconut oil is too solid to mix well:

Spoon or pour the toothpaste into a small glass container.

As I said before, the above picture is Stevia Strong… So I’m inserting a picutre of my toothpaste as well, so you can see the difference.

photo

Store in place cool enough to keep it solid, but not so cold that it gets hard as a rock.  Trust me.  Just use the bristles of your toothbrush to scoop some out for each use.

It took me a few times brushing with it to get used to the baking soda taste, but now I love it and won’t use anything else.

For more DIY healthy alternatives check out some of my other blogs: DIY Powder Laundry Detergent and DIY Deodorant and Lotion.

-jw

7 comments

  1. K Eldridge · · Reply

    It’s true. It works really well! The color and taste were the “get used to” factors for me. But I’m in!

    1. Well, I think that is FANTASTIC.

  2. Thanks for your posts!

    1. Thanks for your thanks!

      1. Thanks for you thanks back, anytime! 🙂 Have a great day tomorrow.

  3. I am not a real fan of coconut oil. I am guessing that it is being used as a binder? And I do not want it sweetened either, so I would leave out the stevia. Is there something else that you think I could use in place of the coconut oil?

    1. Hi Nancy, thanks for stopping by! I don’t see why you need the coconut oil at all. You may want to try whipping up a small batch without it. I would start with a couple tablespoons of baking soda with a pinch of salt and 10 drops of peppermint essential oil and maybe add 10 drops of cinnamon essential oil in addition to 2 to 3 drops of tea tree oil. The coconut oil does basically serve as a binder, though I have read it does have some beneficial oral properties. The baking soda really masks the coconut oil taste if the taste is what turns you off to it. Let me know if you do try it without. I may switch things up in my next batch.

Leave a Reply

