charlie sheen’s got nothing on me

My potassium hydroxide is in transit. Soon I will make my liquid soap and I am so excited.  I simply cannot wait to get my rubber-gloved hands on that stuff.  But it’s in Florida, and I’m in California.  So I guess it’s going to be at least a few more minutes.  In the meantime, I thought I’d start writing about a few of the other DIY (Do It Yourself) products I’m currently using. I’m going to post HOW to DIY in separate blogs, but for now, here’s a little bit of WHY.

Months ago, in an effort to rid myself of unnecessary toxins, I started making my own toothpaste and deodorant.  I then moved on to laundry detergent and lotion.  Of course, if you’ve read my other blogs you know I ditched the shampoo and conditioner as well.  I can honestly say I’ll never go back to the high-priced, store-bought, mass-produced, chemical-laden, brand-named products.  I’m too in love with all of my DIY alternatives.  It’s so easy to make this stuff; it’s all natural, and tons of money can be saved by just mixing a few simple ingredients together.  I’m a big fan of saving money.  I’m not a big fan of chemical/synthetic products.  It’s true that I would still make these things myself even if it cost me more, but it doesn’t.  I guess Charlie Sheen isn’t the only one winning around here. 

For me, there’s no reason not to make these products.  I’m not a big conspiracy theory freak, but I do believe that most of the products we buy are designed to make us need to buy more.  It’s just business.  The product works, but just well enough and just long enough to require us to use them more often.  And if you want the very best product?  Well, that’s going to cost you more.  Often, one product is designed to make us need another.  Soap for example, dries out the skin so lotion is needed, or we can just spend a few more dollars for soap with lotion in it.  Shampoo strips the hair of oils, so follow it up with conditioner.  All these products are designed with one thing in mind, and it’s not your health, it’s your wallet.  Am I the only one that hates being manipulated like that? It drives me nuts.   

In making these products yourself, quality is not sacrificed.  I think that’s important to say, because most people assume homemade hygiene, cleaning or beauty products are inferior.  It’s. Just. Not. True. In fact oftentimes they work way, way, WAY better.  Since I have switched to homemade toothpaste, my teeth feel cleaner LONGER.  Does that make sense?  My gums look and feel healthier.  My gums used to bleed a little bit sometimes when I brushed or flossed and now they don’t.  Since I started using coconut oil as lotion, I only need to use the tiniest amount and it keeps my skin hydrated longer than the lotion I used to buy ever did.  Cleaning my hair costs a small fraction of what it used to, and it’s just as clean.  The deodorant I make smells good and doesn’t contain aluminum like my old deodorant did.  It works just as well, it’s cheaper and it’s better for my heath.  Winning.

And just because I like you, if you don’t have your own reasons to switch to DIY products, feel free to borrow mine. 

You’re welcome.

-jw

Next up: DIY – Toothpaste

Leave a Reply

