holy whole wheat, batman

Early this weekend my mom came over and taught me how to use her mill to make wheat bread.  Compared to the sourdough process, this is a total breeze.  It should have taken about one hour total time, but it took us a little longer because I took extra time to take a bunch of pictures for my visual learners out there.  Shelley E., Kim C., you’re welcome.  But all in all I could not believe how easy this process can be.  Granted, having a mill makes it all possible, and my mom has graciously left hers with me for summer to see if I will really make it part of my life.  And after this experience I can tell you I will.  No doubt.  In addition to the machines, my mom left me with the grain, gluten, and dough enhancer she purchased from a little natural market in Monument, Colorado called Taste of Life, check her out at staffoflife.biz.  She also left a cookbook created by the owner of Taste of Life, Donna Poelstra.  And…

Holy whole wheat, batman, this is my kind of bread.

Here’s everything you’ll need:

3 Tbsp SAF instant yeast

1 rounded Tbsp gluten

1 rounded Tbsp dough enhancer

1 Tbsp real salt

5 cups warm water

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup canola oil

8 cups of wheat grain

It all just goes into the mixer, except of course the grain.  We have to mill that first.  But while we do that, everything can just hang out in the mixer.

On to the milling process.  There’s not much to say.  Turn on the mill, dump the grain in the mill and wait.  Done.

But, man oh man, there really is something to having warm, fresh flour to bake with.  The bread is unlike anything you could buy in the store.  So delicious.

When the flour is done, add 4-5 cups to the mixer and turn machine on to speed 1.   Continue adding flour.  After about 6 cups of flour, increase speed to 2.  Add more flour until the dough pulls away from the bowl half way up, I added it all, but I guess sometimes there could be extra.

Knead for 8 minutes.

Put oil on a cutting bored and rub some on your hands.   Pull the bread from the mixer and divide into 4 loaves.  We did 2 loves and 6 cracker size loaves, which I’ll be blogging about later.

Place in greased bread pans.

Let me take a minute to say a few things about the grease and the pans.  First, the pans.   My mom did me, what my nephew, Cooper, would call, a solid – just another solid on a long, long list of solids.  She remembered that she had my Grandma Eldridge’s bread pans and she gave them to me.

This was possibly the best part of the day for me.  They are just such awesome pans, but more than that, my mom can remember all the different breads my Grandma would make in them.  It just makes me feel so good to have a little piece of her in the kitchen with me, I wish she was with me, but I’m so thankful for the pans.  I’m really lucky that my mom learned so many things from her and can pass them down to me.  My grandma was an extraordinary person and I miss her.

Now on to the grease.   This may be a weird thing to be fascinated about, but my mom has (did I say has, I meant had.  She had.) the cutest pan greasing set up, again from Donna’s shop, A Taste of Life.

How rad is that?  In it is one tablespoon Liquid Lecithin and 1/2 cup canola oil.  This will never go rancid and is all you’ll need to grease pans, basically forever.  And it’s way better than using chemically created or altered greases, like Pam or Crisco.

Back to the bread.

Let rise on the counter for 15 minutes, until doubled in size.

Place in preheated 350-degree oven for approximately 30 minutes.  Remove loaves from pans and cool completely before bagging.

This is a lot of bread, and my husband and I will never eat it all each week.  So we have some friends that are in for some surprises.  Can’t wait to see if they love it as much as I do.

-jw

12 comments

  1. When we eventually move from the townhouse into a bigger homestead, a mill is on my list for my first 3 kitchen appliances. So jealous!

    1. I’m jelous too! I only have it for the summer, then I’ll have to get my own 😦 But You will love it!

  2. Great Blog! Makes me want to bake some bread.

    1. Do it! I can’t wait to bake more. It’s best right out of the oven… YUM!

      1. Planning to make some French Bread tomorrow afternoon! You talked me into it!

      2. So how was the bread? My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

      3. French Bread came out awesome. We enjoyed it immensely, thank you for the prodding. Have a great weekend.

      4. Alright! I baked so much yesterday, I’m going to have to make new friends to have enough people to give it way to 🙂

      5. I noticed that on your blog, I’d be the size of the house if I ate what I’ve seen your pictures of, 🙂 All looks yummy though. I’m a cook more than a baker.

      6. I know, it’s getting a bit out of hand, I’ll admit it. ButIwon’tstop 🙂

  3. the idea of baking bread still scares me a little, but reading this is inspiring me! Great post title too
    😉

    1. I’ve heard this from a lot of people. I think the only reason I haven’t been scared of making bread is because I didn’t know I was supposed to be 🙂 Have no fear and just try it! I bet you’ll surprise yourself. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

