that’s awesome! ready to go wash your hair?

It’s day 27 without shampoo and I won’t lie, I’ve had some rough days.  This last week I’ve had more bad hair days than good, which was awfully discouraging.  Because I wear my hair up or in a ponytail a lot, most people probably couldn’t tell, but I could tell and it was really bringing me down.  My hair just felt heavy, the oil at my scalp wasn’t really bad – thank goodness that wasn’t the problem – but my hair was just dull and heavy and bleckey.  I’m happy to report I found a solution to the problem, but more on that later.  I’ve got some stories to tell.

My mom read my first no shampoo blog and decided to give the deal a whirl.  She is super supportive, and encouraging, and has always been very conscience of what she puts in and on her body.  So this was just a natural progression for her.  She called me up to clarify the baking soda to water, and vinegar to water ratios and jumped in headfirst.  I saw her about a week later and thought:

“Oh crap, what have I done to my mother.”

Now, I thought this because I love my mom a lot, but for the sake of science and the well being of mankind, I didn’t say anything.  Doesn’t mean I love her less people, I was simply thinking of the greater good.  Sorry ma :(.  So I let it go and swore to myself I would keep an eye on the situation and intervene (really soon) if I needed to.

The next time I saw her I knew, I just knew, that she had shampooed her hair.  Not being one to beat around the bush, I called her out on it.

No way, said she. She hadn’t shampooed.

What the?  Her hair looked great.  It had been about 4 day’s since I saw her last, but it seemed like a different head of hair.  It was shiny and soft and had volume.  Turns out, when I saw her on the bad hair day she had just come out of the production booth for a Sunday service and had had big old headphones on her head (duh! Where else would they be?).  It had flattened out her hair and her bangs.  She really hasn’t had any problems.  I text her today and had her send me a picture of her hair.  She replied with this picture right away – so I know she didn’t do much fluffing:

14 days in and her hair is looking amazing.  GRRR!  For her shoulder length hair she uses 1 teaspoon of baking soda in 1/2 cup hot water followed by 1 tablespoon vinegar in 1 cup hot water.  She does this every three days or so.  Go Ma!

But enough about little-miss-perfect-hair.

I was having problems, people.  The first problem was the overall bleckeyness of my hair, the second, was static.  I read that regular haircuts could help with the static.  Now, understand that telling some product-pushing, shampoo-slinging stylist that I don’t shampoo hasn’t been on my list of things to do since I ditched it.  If fact, it’s kind of been on my list of things NOT to do.  Yes, I have “to do” and “not to do” lists.  So what?

So, my husband and I went in for haircuts.  He hasn’t had static, but he did need a cut and I wasn’t going to be the only nut job in the place; so we went together.  Yes, he is pretty awesome.  So, I sit in the chair and start in with the, “I don’t wash my hair” speech and the stylist seems to get it.  “Wow,” she says, “that’s pretty cool what do you do?”  I explain about the baking soda and she’s nodding and still seems to get it.  I’m feeling a little awkward, but I finish up explaining and look at her expectantly.

“That’s awesome,” she says, “ready to go wash your hair?”

I’m dead serious, people, this actually happened.

WHAT THE?

No.  I am not ready.  I’m not going to be ready.  Please don’t put that crap on my head.  Thanks though.  Just cut it.  Cut it wet, cut it dry, just please cut my hair.  She went with the dry cut, because she was sure that my hair would be too tangled if she got it wet.  For those of you on a computer with PowerPoint, just for kicks, click this link to download a video, then double click to see a fine toothcomb going through my wet hair today:

Comb through wet hair

I have to say that when I went to get the cut my hair was still pretty bleckey so I can’t blame her for not trying.  Anyways, I am, of course, finished first, because my stylist took all of 15 minutes to do my cut.  My husband came out about 10 minutes later (with a great looking cut) followed by his awesome stylist.  He had explained the no shampoo to her and she REALLY got it.  She already knew.  She even took the time to come over to meet me and suggest coconut oil for my static.  Awesome chick.  The very chick that will give me my next hair cut.  Just FYI.  Her name was Jenny.  I should have known.

On to my solution, the heavy, dull, bleck-hair remedy?  Lemons.  The baking soda has been both good and not so good for me.  I’m not going to abandon it entirely but I feel like I need something to mix it up.  I know that lemons are a good cleansing alternative.  So, I took a lemon and cut it in half, like you would cut it to juice it, in the middle, perpendicular to the stem.  I used it alone as shampoo by squeezing half the lemon directly on to my scalp and massaging it in.  I then took the remains of the squeezed lemon and rubbed it on my scalp.  I took the other half and did the same thing focusing on the ends.  I worked a comb through my hair right there under the water to remove any pulp that was sticking around in my hair.  I followed that with a 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar in 1 cup water rinse.  Oh, oh!  I keep my vinegar in a small glass container in the shower, to this I add two drops orange and two drops lemon essential oils and it has really gotten rid of the vinegar smell.  Which is awesome!

And that, people, seems to have solved my bleck problem.  My hair feels great and I can tell this is going to be a big help.  I plan on doing the lemon wash once a week.  I’m going to try two teaspoons baking soda in 1 cup water, wash (I was previously using 1 tablespoon to 1 cup), and continuing with 1 tablespoon vinegar/essential oils in 1 cup water, rinse.  Here’s some pictures of my hair after the lemon wash, vinegar/oils rinse followed by a blow dry today.

It’s funny how my hair color looks so different with and without flash.  Without flash, it looks red-ish, with flash it has gold tones.  It’s brown; mousy, not fancy, boring brown.  The last pic looks the most accurate.  Weird.

Anyhoo, almost one month in, there has been adjustment challenges, but I still think No Shampoo is the way to go, and I’m in it for the long haul.

Man,  I’m going to need a lot of lemons.  Pretty lucky to have a brother with this tree, huh?

-jw

2 comments

  1. This is really interesting! I totally hate the sulfates and other crap in shampoos but just try to buy the ones marked “no pthalates/sulfates/parabens” and what have you. Though often times they have at least one of those, so it’s a near-impossible feat. I hadn’t considered trying some all-natural pantry ingredients! I have thick, wavy hair, though. I’d worry that I’d be a frizzed out disaster! But I’m also really curious and want to know more….

    1. You should totally try it. I’ve read that thick wavy, or curley hair is supposed to be the absolute best looking, once you get it back to the natural state. Mine’s straight, thin strands, but a lot of it… no one would ever call it thick though. Try, try, try! Jess ic ca! Jess ic ca! I’ll be your cheerleader. 🙂

Leave a Reply

